Is it me or has anyone noticed just how dominant we are by nature, as a species I mean?  We control virtually every aspect of animals and their lives either directly or indirectly.  Directly by having them as pets or invading wild habitats indirectly by the demand for space.
Pets living accommodation, feeding regimes, freedom and space rely soley on what we allow.  I have no issue with this until it becomes a cruelty question.  I try to allow my cat the freedom to come and go on demand, his feeding, amount of contact with me all depend on his wants and needs.  No he does not have to work for me and horses are a different kettle of fish so to speak.  We do however limit space, feeding and contact.  Again there is no issue here, what I am curious about is wether we work with them in a dominant manner.  Adopting the alpha herd leader more often than not, or do we? More to the point should we?  When releasing a passive horse back into its field, when a dominant horse is too close the passive one seems tense and edgy, when approached by a gentler companion the passive relaxes.  Would we be better observing our horses in a herd to discover the nature of our horses first and adopt a more passive (for the passive natured horse) way by leading in a calm  'I'm going this way because it is a good idea' sort of way, or with the dominant 'come this way because I say it is right'  with the dominant horse.  I have heard many say to take the alpha way and only once come across someone saying that a passive mare in a herd is followed and it sounded as if the passive was followed without fuss and frequently.  Does it come down to assessing our horses?  What is best?  So long as there is no cruelty and the horse has a happy loving and willing relationship what can I say?  I love horses very much and would like to be able to observe them in the wild.  There is no nicer way to me, than spending time in the fields with the birds singing watching these beautiful animals doing what they choose to do.  



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Horse mad, older not much wiser, married, good family and friends, a very lucky lady

    Archives

    May 2011

    Categories

    All